Committee 2023 - 2025

President Dr Muiz Mahyudin
Vice President Prof Dr Liza Sharmini Ahmad Tajudin
Hon. Secretary Dr Teh Wee Min
Hon. Treasurer Prof Dr Mae-Lynn Catherine Bastion
Asst. Hon. Secretary Dr Chan Jan Bond
Committee Members Dr Barkeh Hanim Jumaat
Dr Ng Hong Kee
Dr Lee Mun Wai
Dr Sudhashini Chandrasekaran
YO Representative: Dr Wendy See Yen Nee
Internal Auditors Dr Manoharan Shunmugam
Dr Aida Zairani Mohd Zahidin


The Society was first formed in 1964 by pioneering Malaysian Ophthalmologists, as a society within the Malaysian Medical Association (MMA) designated as the MMA Ophthalmological Society (MMAOS). Over the following 45 years, the society grew in membership and activities under the umbrella of the MMA, promoting and advancing the specialty.

Eventually, the membership of the MMA OS realised that, in order for the Society to fulfill its objectives and to meet new challenges more effectively, it was necessary to spread its wings and exist as an independent society.

With that, the MSO was formed and successfully registered with the Registrar of Societies on 15 April 2008. The MMA OS was dissolved on 31 December 2009.

As our predecessor society had done so well over the years, the MSO will continue to carry the flag for the profession of Ophthalmology in Malaysia, having taken over all the duties and functions of the MMA OS.


  • To continuously advance the standard of Ophthalmology practice in Malaysia in keeping with the best international standards, by actively promoting Continuous Medical Education, encouraging Continuous Professional Development, and by facilitating the professional exchange of information among its members.
  • To improve eye and visual health in the community by conducting educational, charitable and other projects.
  • To encourage research and development in Ophthalmology
  • To enhance social interaction and to foster goodwill among practitioners of the specialty, including members in training
  • To promote and to uphold the interests of the profession of Ophthalmology in all its aspects