The Master in Ophthalmology programmes are offered by the following universities:

Universiti Malaya (UM)
Universiti Malaya (UM)
Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM)
Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM)
Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM)
Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM)

The conjoint programme started in 2008 and since then, the intake and examination of candidates have been done jointly by the 3 universities.

Candidates keen to undertake this programme may register either as a private candidate or as a sponsored candidate by the JPA (Jabatan Perkhidmatan Awam). The application form is available from the Ministry of Higher Education (for sponsored candidates) and also from the relevant universities (for private candidates) through their respective websites. The form is usually available in the month of April/ May and application is closed by August/September. The conjoint interview is usually held in December. However, this timeline may change and candidates are advised to enquire from the relevant website.

All interested candidates are advised to sit for the Basic Science Examination (BSE). You may visit under the College of Surgeons for more information. Guidelines on the Master programme will also be available in this website soon. JPA sponsored candidates must be confirmed in service and are advised to complete their district postings.

Programme structure

Year Phase Curriculum Assessment
1 1 Ophthalmology related Basic Medical Sciences
Basic Ocular sciences
Optics & refraction
Introduction to Clinical Ophthalmology
Part I
2 Clinical Ophthalmology
Ophthalmology related general medicine & neurology
Part II
4 3 Advance clinical ophthalmology Part III

The course extends over a minimum period of 4 years and maximum period of 7 years.